### DRAFT SUBJECT TO THE APPROVAL OF MAIN COUNCIL ON 5th JUNE 2018.

## MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL PARISH COUNCIL MEETING HELD AT ST MARY'S CENTRE, FELPHAM 1st May 2018

**PRESENT**: Councillors: D Smart, Mrs M Harvey, M Harvey, Mrs J Wild, G Matthews, G Grundy. Mrs R Kissell. Ms H Flynn. P English and Mrs G Moss.

#### APC 1. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE:

Councillors M Copeland, Ms L Jones & G Hewlett had sent their apologies.

No other apologies had been received.

#### APC 2. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST:

There were no declarations of interest at the outset of the meeting.

#### APC 3. 2017/18 CHAIRMAN'S REPORT:

Copies of the current Chairman' Report for 2017/18 had been distributed to all Councillors prior to the meeting.

The Chairman's report will available to the public, on request, from the Parish Council Office, and will also be available from the Council's website freely downloadable.

The Chairman advised the meeting that he would be quite happy to receive any comments from Councillors in the future, once they had had more time to digest the information within the report.

The Chairman concluded by thanking all members for their hard work and support, particularly the Chairs of Committees.

It was RESOLVED by the meeting that the Annual Report be noted.

#### APC 4. ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN:

One nomination had been received. This was for Cllr David Smart.

There were no others nominations received at the meeting.

Councillor D Smart had been proposed by Councillor G Matthews and seconded by Councillor M Harvey.

On an unanimous vote Councillor D Smart was duly elected as Chairman of Felpham Parish Council for the municipal year 2018/19, and signed the acceptance of office form accordingly.

The new Chairman made his Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

#### APC 5. ELECTION OF VICE CHAIRMAN:

One nomination had been received. This was for Cllr Mrs G Moss. There were no others received at the meeting.

Councillor Mrs G Moss had been proposed by Councillor G Matthews and seconded by Councillor D Smart.

On an unanimous vote Councillor Mrs G Moss was duly elected as Vice-Chairman of Felpham Parish Council for the municipal year 2018/19.

#### APC 6. ELECTION OF COMMITTEES:

All Councillors had prior to the meeting, been given the opportunity to indicate which Committees they wished to stand for, with a proposer and seconder being required for each nomination.

After discussion the following Councillors were elected to the Committees below with the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Council being ex-officio on all Committees.

Finance & Administration: 8

Clirs: A Burrows, M Copeland, P English, Ms H Flynn, G Hewlett, Ms L Jones, Mrs R Kissell and G Matthews.

On a vote the members of this Committee for 2018/19 were unanimously agreed.

Planning: 6

Clirs: P English, G Hewlett, M Harvey, Mrs M Harvey, Ms L Jones and G Matthews.

On a vote the members of this Committee for 2018/19 were unanimously agreed.

Allotments and Open Spaces: 5

Clirs: D Chuter, P English, G Grundy, Ms L Jones and Mrs J Wild.

On a vote the members of this Committee for 2018/19 were unanimously agreed.

**Projects Committee: 8** 

Clirs: P English, Ms H Flynn, G Hewlett, M Harvey, Mrs M Harvey, Ms L Jones, G Matthews and Mrs J Wild.

On a vote the members of this Committee for 2018/19 were unanimously agreed

Blake's Mead Development Committee: 5

Clirs: A Burrows, M Copeland, P English, Ms L Jones and G Matthews

On a vote the members of this Committee for 2018/19 were unanimously agreed.

**Neighbourhood Plan Committee: 7** 

Clirs: D Chuter, P English, G Grundy, Ms L Jones, Mrs R Kissell, G Matthews and Mrs J Wild.

On a vote the members of this Committee for 2018/19 were unanimously agreed.

#### APC 7. APPOINTMENTS TO OUTSIDE BODIES:

The following Councillors were elected to the following outside bodies:

Joint Western Arun Area Committee: Cllrs: Mrs J Wild & G Matthews.

Councillor Mrs J Wild was proposed by Councillor P English as the main representative of the Council, this was seconded by Councillor D Smart and unanimously agreed.

One nomination was received for the position of deputy representative.

Councillor G Matthews was nominated Councillor Ms H Flynn, this was seconded by Councillor P English.

On an unanimous vote Councillor G Matthews was duly elected as the deputy representative on JWAAC for 2018/19.

Felpham Village Hall Trustee (Annual): Cllr: P English.

Councillor P English had been proposed by Councillor Ms H Flynn and seconded by Councillor Mrs G Moss. No other nominations were received.

It was therefore unanimously agreed that Councillor P English be the Council representative on this group for 2018/19.

JWAAC Highways and Transport sub-committee: Cllr: G Matthews

Councillor G Matthews was proposed by Councillor D Smart and seconded by Councillor Ms H Flynn. No other nominations were received.

It was therefore unanimously agreed that Councillor G Matthews be the Council representative on this group for 2018/19.

West Sussex ALC Ltd: Councillor Mrs G Moss.

### **Arun District Association of Local Councils:** Councillors M Harvey.

# APC 8. TO CONFIRM THE MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL PARISH COUNCIL MEETING HELD ON 2<sup>nd</sup> MAY 2017:

The minutes had been previously **APPROVED** by the Main Council, at its meeting on the 6<sup>th</sup> June 2017.

#### APC 9. MATTERS ARISING:

There were no matters arising.

# APC 10 TO APPROVE THE CONTINUED ADOPTION OF THE POWER OF GENERAL COMPETENCE AND THE FOLLOWING POLICIES OF THE COUNCIL:

As this was the start of a new municipal year for the Council the meeting was requested to confirm and approve the policies and procedures of the Council including the re-adoption of the Power of General Competence.

It was proposed by Councillor Ms H Flynn, seconded by Councillor Mrs R Kissell and unanimously RESOLVED that the following policies and procedures be approved unanimously for the forthcoming municipal year 2018/19:

- \* Standing Orders of the Council.
- \* Financial Regulations of the Council.
- \* Risk Management Plan of the Council.
- \* Health & Safety Policy of the Council.
- \* Dignity at Work Policy of the Council.
- \* Grievance Procedure.

And that the Council re-adopt the Power of General Competence for this forthcoming year.

The meeting closed at 6.54 p.m.		
Approved	Chairman	Date