DRAFT SUBJECT TO THE APPROVAL OF MAIN COUNCIL ON 3RD JUNE 2025

MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL PARISH COUNCIL MEETING HELD AT THE FELPHAM COMMUNITY HALL, MEADEN WAY, FELPHAM 6th May 2025

PRESENT: Councillors: Emma Aylward, Steve Baker, Antony Bassett, Bob Budd, Kirsty Halls, Tom Harty, Glen Hewlett, Russ Marsden- Sear, Gloria Moss, Graham Page, Jane Parker, Rick Parker, Jules Verhulpen, Pat Young

APC 1. ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN:

One nomination had been received:

Councillor Russ Marsden-Sear was nominated by Councillor Gloria Moss and seconded by Councillor Glen Hewlett.

There were no other nominations received at the meeting.

Councillors voted in a blind vote and the results of this vote were 10 votes for, two against and two abstentions. Councillor Russ Marsden-Sear was duly elected as Chairman of Felpham Parish Council for the municipal year 2025/26.

APC 2. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE:

Councillor Martin Harvey

APC 3. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST:

None

APC 4. ELECTION OF VICE CHAIRMAN:

Two nominations were received:

Councillor Pat Young was nominated by Councillor Gloria Moss and seconded by Councillor Glen Hewlett.

Councillor Gloria Moss was nominated by Councillor Jane Parker and seconded by Councillor Rick Parker.

There were no other nominations received at the meeting.

Councillors voted in a blind vote and the results of this vote were 9 votes for Councillor Pat Young, 5 votes for Councillor Gloria Moss. Councillor Pat Young was therefore duly elected as Vice-Chair of Felpham Parish Council for the municipal year 2025/26.

APC 5. TO RECEIVE CHAIRMAN'S REPORT

This had been circulated to all councillors prior to the meeting and is available on the website.

APC 6. ELECTION OF COMMITTEES:

After discussion and votes, Councillors were elected to the following committees, with the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Council being ex-officio on all committees:

Allotments and Open Spaces:

Councillors: Antony Bassett, Bob Budd, Kirsty Halls, Gloria Moss

Proposed: Councillor Kirsty Halls, Seconded: Councillor Pat Young

It was RESOLVED that these councillors form members of this Committee for 2025/26.

Finance & Administration:

Councillors: Emma Aylward, Steve Baker, Antony Bassett, Bob Budd, Kirsty Halls, Tom Harty, Martin Harvey, Glen Hewlett, Gloria Moss, Graham Page, Jane Parker, Rick Parker, Jules Verhulpen

Proposed: Councillor Glen Hewlett, Seconded: Councillor Emma Aylward

It was RESOLVED that these councillors form members of this Committee for 2025/26.

Planning, Licensing & Neighbourhood Plan:

Councillors: Steve Baker, Antony Bassett, Bob Budd, Kirsty Halls, Tom Harty, Glen Hewlett, Gloria Moss, Graham Page, Jane Parker, Rick Parker.

Proposed: Councillor Steve Baker, Seconded: Councillor Rick Parker

It was RESOLVED that these councillors form members of this Committee for 2025/26.

Projects & Resilience Committee:

Councillors: Antony Bassett, Bob Budd, Kirsty Halls, Gloria Moss

Proposed: Councillor Pat Young, Seconded: Councillor Gloria Moss

It was RESOLVED that these councillors form members of this Committee for 2025/26.

APC 6. APPOINTMENTS TO OUTSIDE BODIES:

The following Councillors were elected to the following outside bodies:

Felpham Village Memorial Hall Trustee (Annual):

Councillor Bob Budd was proposed by Councillor Rick Parker and seconded by Councillor Antony Bassett. No other nominations were received.

On a majority vote, it was RESOLVED that Councillor Bob Budd be the Council representative on this group for 2025/26.

West Sussex ALC Ltd:

Councillor Russ Marsden-Sear was proposed by Councillor Kirsty Halls as the representative of the Council, this was seconded by Councillor Glen Hewlett.

On a majority vote, Councillor Russ Marsden-Sear was duly elected as the Council's representative on WSALC for 2025/26.

Arun District Association of Local Councils:

Councillor Russ Marsden-Sear was proposed by Councillor Antony Bassett and seconded by Councillor Gloria Moss. No other nominations were received.

On a majority vote, Councillor Russ Marsden-Sear was duly elected as the Council's representative on ADALC for 2025/26.

APC 7. TO CONFIRM THE MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL PARISH COUNCIL MEETING HELD ON 7TH MAY 2024

Councillor Rick Parker proposed that councillors approve the minutes of the Annual Parish Council Meeting of 7th May 2024. This was seconded by Councillor Glen Hewlett and unanimously agreed.

APC 8. TO APPROVE THE FOLLOWING POLICIES OF THE COUNCIL for 2025/26:

As this was the start of a new municipal year for the Council, the meeting was requested to confirm, approve, and re-affirm the policies and procedures of the Council.

It was proposed by Councillor Rick Parker, seconded by Councillor Steve Baker and on a majority vote, RESOLVED that the following policies and procedures be approved for the forthcoming municipal year 2025/26:

- Model Standing Orders (2025 Update England)
- 2021 Code of Conduct
- Bereavement and Compassionate Leave Policy
- Broadcasting, Filming or Recording of Council Meetings Policy
- CCTV Policy for Felpham Community Hall
- Child and Vulnerable Persons Protection and Safeguarding Policy

- Complaints Procedure
- Co-option Policy and Procedure
- Data Protection Policy
- Dignity at Work Policy
- Disciplinary Policy
- Equal Opportunities
- NALC Model Financial Regulations 2025
- Grant Awards Policy
- Grievance Procedure
- Health & Safety Policy
- Information Security Incident Policy
- Lone Working Policy
- Metal Detecting Policy
- Platinum Blue Plaque Heritage Trail Policy
- Press and Media Policy
- Risk Management Plan.
- Social Media Policy
- Stress Policy
- Training and Development Policy
- Adopted Remit Allotments and Open Spaces Committee
- Adopted Remit Finance and Administration Committee
- Adopted Remit Planning, Licensing and Neighbourhood Plan Committee
- Adopted Remit Projects and Community Involvement Committee

APC 8. TO APPROVE THE CONTINUED ADOPTION OF THE GENERAL POWER OF COMPETENCE:

Continued adoption of the GPC was explained to all councillors. It was proposed by Councillor Graham Page, seconded by Councillor Steve Baker and on a majority vote, RESOLVED that Felpham Parish Council readopt the Power of General Competence for this forthcoming year, subject to the Clerk to the Council having the requisite qualifications for the Council to be able to carry out these Powers.

The meeting closed at 18.17 p.m.

Approved	Chairman	Date