DRAFT SUBJECT TO THE APPROVAL OF MAIN COUNCIL ON 4th JUNE 2024

MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL PARISH COUNCIL MEETING HELD AT THE FELPHAM COMMUNITY HALL, MEADEN WAY, FELPHAM 7th May 2024

PRESENT: Councillors: Emma Aylward, Steve Baker, Antony Bassett, Bob Budd, Jacki Burton, Emma Carrick, Kirsty Halls, Tom Harty, Glen Hewlett, Russ Marsden- Sear, Graham Page, Jane Parker, Rick Parker, Jules Verhulpen, Pat Young

West Sussex County Councillor: Jaine Wild

APC 1. ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN:

Two nominations had been received:

Councillor Steve Baker was nominated by Councillor Rick Parker and seconded by Councillor Emma Carrick.

Councillor Russ Marsden-Sear was nominated by Councillor Kirsty Halls and seconded by Councillor Emma Aylward.

There were no other nominations received at the meeting.

Councillors voted in a blind vote and the results of this vote were 7 votes for each candidate with one abstention. In the case of an equality of votes in the election of a chairman the person presiding at the meeting shall give a casting vote in addition to any other vote they may have and may vote for themselves (LGA 1972, ss 15(2), (3) and 34 (2), (3)). The casting vote was for Councillor Russ Marsden-Sear and Councillor Russ Marsden-Sear was therefore duly elected as Chairman of Felpham Parish Council for the municipal year 2024/25.

APC 2. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE:

Councillor Martin Harvey

APC 3. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST:

None

APC 4. ELECTION OF VICE CHAIRMAN:

Two nominations had been received:

Councillor Rick Parker was nominated by Councillor Steve Baker and seconded by Councillor Jane Parker.

Councillor Pat Young was nominated by Councillor Russ Marsden-Sear and seconded by Councillor Antony Bassett.

There were no other nominations received at the meeting.

Councillors voted in a blind vote and the results of this vote were 7 votes for each candidate with one abstention. Chair Russ Marsden-Sear exercised a casting vote for Councillor Pat Young who was therefore duly elected as Vice-Chair of Felpham Parish Council for the municipal year 2024/25.

APC 5. TO RECEIVE CHAIRMAN'S REPORT

This had been circulated to all councillors prior to the meeting and is available on the website.

APC 6. ELECTION OF COMMITTEES:

After discussion and votes, Councillors were elected to the following committees, with the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Council being ex-officio on all committees:

Allotments and Open Spaces:

Councillors: Emma Aylward, Antony Bassett, Bob Budd, Emma Carrick, Kirsty Halls, Martin Harvey, Jules Verhulpen

Proposed: Councillor Russ Marsden-Sear, Seconded: Councillor Kirsty Halls

It was RESOLVED that these councillors form members of this Committee for 2024/25.

Finance & Administration:

Councillors: Emma Aylward, Antony Bassett, Steve Baker, Bob Budd, Kirsty Halls, Glen Hewlett, Jules Verhulpen, Pat Young.

Proposed: Councillor Glen Hewlett, Seconded: Councillor Kirsty Halls

It was RESOLVED that these councillors form members of this Committee for 2024/25.

Planning, Licensing & Neighbourhood Plan:

Councillors: Antony Bassett, Bob Budd, Kirsty Halls, Tom Harty, Glen Hewlett, Graham Page, Rick Parker

Proposed: Councillor Emma Aylward, Seconded: Councillor Glen Hewlett

It was RESOLVED that these councillors form members of this Committee for 2024/25.

Projects & Resilience Committee:

Councillors: Emma Aylward, Antony Bassett, Steve Baker, Bob Budd, Jacki Burton, Kirsty Halls, Martin Harvey, Jane Parker, Rick Parker, Jules Verhulpen

Proposed: Councillor Emma Aylward, Seconded: Councillor Pat Young

It was RESOLVED that these councillors form members of this Committee for 2024/25.

APC 6. APPOINTMENTS TO OUTSIDE BODIES:

The following Councillors were elected to the following outside bodies:

Felpham Village Memorial Hall Trustee (Annual):

Councillor Bob Budd was proposed by Councillor Russ Marsden-Sear and seconded by Councillor Kirsty Halls. No other nominations were received.

On a majority vote, it was RESOLVED that Councillor Bob Budd be the Council representative on this group for 2024/25.

West Sussex ALC Ltd:

Councillor Russ Marsden-Sear was proposed by Councillor Glen Hewlett as the representative of the Council, this was seconded by Councillor Bob Budd.

On a majority vote, Councillor Russ Marsden-Sear was duly elected as the Council's representative on WSALC for 2024/25.

Arun District Association of Local Councils:

Councillor Russ Marsden-Sear was proposed by Councillor Glen Hewlett and seconded by Councillor Bob Budd. No other nominations were received.

On a majority vote, Councillor Russ Marsden-Sear was duly elected as the Council's representative on ADALC for 2024/25.

APC 7. TO APPROVE THE FOLLOWING POLICIES OF THE COUNCIL for 2024/25:

As this was the start of a new municipal year for the Council the meeting was requested to confirm, approve, and re-affirm the policies and procedures of the Council.

It was proposed by Councillor Rick Parker, seconded by Councillor Emma Carrick and on a majority vote, RESOLVED that the following policies and procedures be approved for the forthcoming municipal year 2024/25:

- Model Standing Orders (2018 England Version 2 April 22)
- 2021 Code of Conduct
- Bereavement and Compassionate Leave Policy

- Blue Plaque Policy
- Broadcasting, Filming or Recording of Council Meetings Policy
- CCTV Policy for Felpham Community Hall
- Child and Vulnerable Persons Protection and Safeguarding Policy
- Complaints Procedure
- Councillor IT Security Policy
- Co-option Policy and Procedure
- Data Protection Policies
- Dignity at Work Policy.
- Disciplinary Policy
- Environment Statement
- Equal Opportunities
- Financial Regulations
- Grant Awards Policy
- Grievance Procedure.
- Health & Safety Policy.
- Information Security Incident Policy
- Lone Working Policy
- Press and Media Policy
- Platinum Blue Plaque Heritage Trail Policy
- Risk Management Plan.
- Social Media Policy
- Stress Policy
- Training and Development Policy

APC 8. TO APPROVE THE CONTINUED ADOPTION OF THE GENERAL POWER OF COMPETENCE:

It was proposed by Councillor Emma Aylward, seconded by Councillor Antony Bassett and on a majority vote, RESOLVED that Felpham Parish Council re-adopt the Power of General Competence for this forthcoming year, subject to the Clerk to the Council having the requisite qualifications for the Council to be able to carry out these Powers.

The meeting closed at 6.15 p.m.

Approved..... Chairman

Date.....