### DRAFT SUBJECT TO THE APPROVAL OF MAIN COUNCIL ON 6th JUNE 2023.

#### MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL PARISH COUNCIL MEETING HELD AT THE FELPHAM COMMUNITY HALL, MEADEN WAY, FELPHAM 16<sup>th</sup> May 2022

**PRESENT**: Councillors: Emma Aylward, Steve Baker, Antony Bassett, Bob Budd, Jacki Burton, Emma Carrick, Kirsty Halls, Tom Harty, Martin Harvey, Glen Hewlett, Russ Marsden-Sear, Graham Page, Jane Parker, Rick Parker, Jules Verhulpen, Pat Young

Dave Smart

### APC 1. ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN:

One nomination was received. This was for Councillor Russ Marsden-Sear.

There were no other nominations received at the meeting.

Councillor Russ Marsden-Sear was proposed by Councillor Rick Parker and seconded by Councillor Steve Baker

On a majority vote Councillor Russ Marsden-Sear was duly elected as Chairman of Felpham Parish Council for the municipal year 2023/24.

### APC 2. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE:

District Councillors: Jill Madeley, Elaine Stainton

#### APC 3. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST:

Councillor Russ Marsden Sear – Chairman of Felpham Memorial Village Hall Councillor Rick Parker – Committee member of Felpham Memorial Village Hall

### APC 4. ELECTION OF VICE CHAIRMAN:

Two nominations had been received:

Councillor Rick Parker was nominated by Councillor Pat Young and seconded by Councillor Kirsty Halls

Councillor Steve Baker was nominated by Councillor Emma Carrick and seconded by Councillor Bob Budd.

There were no other nominations received at the meeting.

Councillors voted in a blind vote and on a majority decision Councillor Rick Parker was duly elected as Vice-Chairman of Felpham Parish Council for the municipal year 2023/24.

### APC 5. ELECTION OF COMMITTEES:

After discussion and votes, Councillors were elected to the following committees with the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Council being ex-officio on all committees:

## Allotments and Open Spaces:

Councillors: Emma Aylward, Antony Bassett, Bob Budd, Jacki Burton, Emma Carrick, Kirsty Halls, Martin Harvey, Jane Parker, Graham Page, Jules Verhulpen

Proposed: Councillor Steve Baker, Seconded: Councillor Rick Parker

# It was RESOLVED that these councillors form members of this Committee for 2023/24.

## Finance & Administration:

Councillors: Steve Baker, Jacki Burton, Bob Budd, Glen Hewlett, Jane Parker, Pat Young.

Proposed: Councillor Kirsty Halls, Seconded Tom Harty

# It was RESOLVED that these councillors form members of this Committee for 2023/24.

### Planning, Licensing & Neighbourhood Plan:

Councillors: Bob Budd, Tom Harty, Glen Hewlett, Graham Page, Rick Parker

Proposed: Steve Baker, Seconded: Martin Harvey

# It was RESOLVED that these councillors form members of this Committee for 2023/24.

### Projects & Resilience Committee:

Councillors: Emma Aylward, Antony Bassett, Steve Baker, Bob Budd, Kirsty Halls, Martin Harvey, Tom Harty, Jules Verhulpen, Pat Young

Proposed: Emma Carrick, Seconded: Rick Parker

# It was RESOLVED that these councillors form members of this Committee for 2023/24.

### APC 6. APPOINTMENTS TO OUTSIDE BODIES:

The following Councillors were elected to the following outside bodies:

### Felpham Village Hall Trustee (Annual):

Councillor Pat Young was proposed by Councillor Jane Parker and seconded by Councillor Jules Verhulpen. No other nominations were received.

On a majority vote, it was RESOLVED that Councillor Pat Young be the Council representative on this group for 2023/24.

## West Sussex ALC Ltd:

Councillor Russ Marsden-Sear was proposed by Councillor Jules Verhulpen as the representative of the Council, this was seconded by Councillor Tom Harty

# On a majority vote, Councillor Russ Marsden-Sear was duly elected as the Council's representative on WSALC for 2023/24.

### Arun District Association of Local Councils:

Councillor Russ Marsden-Sear was proposed by Councillor Emma Aylward and seconded by Councillor Kirsty Halls. No other nominations were received.

# On a majority vote, Councillor Russ Marsden-Sear was duly elected as the Council's representative on ADALC for 2023/24.

#### APC 7. TO APPROVE THE FOLLOWING POLICIES OF THE COUNCIL for 2023/24:

As this was the start of a new municipal year for the Council the meeting was requested to confirm, approve, and re-affirm the policies and procedures of the Council.

It was proposed by Councillor Glen Hewlett, seconded by Councillor Rick Parker and unanimously agreed and RESOLVED that the following policies and procedures be approved for the forthcoming municipal year 2023/24:

- Model Standing Orders (2018 England Version 2 April 22)
- 2021 Code of Conduct
- Bereavement and Compassionate Leave Policy
- Broadcasting, Filming or Recording of Council Meetings Policy
- CCTV Policy for Felpham Community Hall
- Child and Vulnerable Persons Protection and Safeguarding Policy
- Complaints Procedure
- Councillor IT Security Policy
- Co-option Policy and Procedure
- Data Protection Policies
- Dignity at Work Policy.
- Disciplinary Policy
- Environment Statement
- Equal Opportunities
- Financial Regulations
- Grant Awards Policy
- Grievance Procedure.
- Health & Safety Policy.
- Information Security Incident Policy
- Lone Working Policy
- Platinum Blue Plaque Heritage Trail Policy
- Press and Media Policy
- Risk Management Plan.
- Stress Policy

# APC 8. TO APPROVE THE CONTINUED ADOPTION OF THE GENERAL POWER OF COMPETENCE:

It was proposed by Councillor Bob Budd, seconded by Councillor Glen Hewlett and unanimously agreed that the Council re-adopt the Power of General Competence for this forthcoming year, subject to the Clerk to the Council having the requisite qualifications for the Council to be able to carry out these Powers.

The meeting closed at 6.50 p.m.

Approved..... Chairman

Date.....